How Many New Words Every Day?

When it comes to language learning, one of the most important things is building your vocabulary.

Grammar is important, ok! But without knowing a good number of words, you will not go too far.

At first, I tried to learn a huge amount of new words every day! What I found out, unfortunately, is that after a few days, they were all gone (except a few of them). By this I mean that they didn’t become a part of my “active” vocabulary.

That’s why I started to take it a little bit slower and dedicate more time to reviewing old stuff.

While in the beginning I was maybe going through 4 dialogues per day, trying to learn all the words, now I prefer reading 1 or 2 dialogues from my book, and spend more time reading/listening again to the material I already studied before.

If you want to read some numbers, well I would say that maybe you can learn and retain around 10 – 15 new words per day! More of that it’s useless! It’s better to spend your time reviewing again old stuff and old vocabulary.

Let me know what you think about that and if something similar happened also to you!

Leave a comment